We all know yes, you should have called a cab but what can you learn from this web site for the future?
Well, Iowa starts its definition of drunk driving as:
1. Operating a vehicle;
2. While under the influence of drugs or alcohol;
3. While having an alcohol concentration of.08 or higher.
So if you are parked but with the engine off and the keys are not where you have access, you should not be arrested for DWI/DUI but could be arrested for public intoxication. The facts in each case will determine your fate.
Punishable up to one year in jail and/or a fine of up to $1500.00
Mandatory minium- 2 days in jail and a $1250.00 fine plus a government surcharge of $400.00
There is a chance of a deferred judgment. Talk to Caren about this.
Second Offense DWI - Aggravated Misdemeanor
Punishable by up to 2 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $5000.00
Mandatory Minimum Penalty- 7 days in jail and a fine of at leats $1,850.00
Fact- past DWI Dui deferreds are counted as your first.
Third Offense - DWI -Class D Felony Punishable up to 5 years in Prison and/or a fine of $3,125.00
Mandatory Minimum Penalty- 30 days in jail and a fine $3,125.00
In addition to the State of Iowa's punishment, the Department of Transportation will revoke your driving privileges for any type of offense.
Check with Caren for information having to do with "Refusals to Blow" and juvenile drinking levels.